Mental Wanderings

Doorbell is broken, got a knock on the door

This morning, I called in sick after waking up with a clogged nose and sinuses causing my head and body to ache. In the late afternoon, as I lounged around in my pajamas while trying to recuperate, there was a knock on my front door. The TV was on, but I am unsure whether it could be heard from outside, so I quickly muted the sound, walked up to the little peephole and looked to see a young man, in his mid-twenties who waited around five seconds and then left. The sharp knocking had startled me a bit since my neighbors normally never bother me. As quick as a plump fox, I dashed over to the second bedroom and peeked through the window shades to see him walking away.

A good hour later when I was prepping lunch when I noticed some legs through the mostly closed shades of my kitchen window so again, I dashed to the second bedroom, peered out and saw the same person, stopped at the curb, pull out his cellphone to speak with someone as he began walking. Inside of walking the curb, he had come up close to the front porch because that is how I saw his legs. He luckily had a mode of communication on-hand but it made me wonder why he had walked so close to the front of the house. Moments like this make it clear that I need to install a video camera onto my doorbell – which happens to not be working correctly so that also needs to be figured out. It’s good to have some way to speak to a stranger who is suddenly standing on your doorstep without having to open the door or at least peer without having to sneak all over.

Leave a comment