Mental Wanderings

Wearing socks to bed

I am an odd sleeper. I love the cold feel around me as I drift off to sleep but will cuddle down into my bedspread until only a small spot is allowing the blowing breeze from my fans to get through. If the room is too warm, I sweat. If the room is too cold, I bundle up more. Am like Goldilocks in always trying to find that sweet spot of chill for sleeping. It’s said that the best temperature for sleeping is between 65 to 70 degrees but I won’t allow my AC to dip below 73 degrees F.

One thing I have begun doing is wearing a pair of cotton socks on my feet as I lay down for the night. Have done research on the subject: During waking hours, human body temperature2  sits at about 98.6 degrees Fahrenheit and can vary up to half a degree during the day. Lower body temperatures usually precede sleepiness, and evidence suggests that utilizing socks or other foot warming methods may lower your core body temperature and help you fall asleep faster.

It actually works! Now there are several early mornings where I am half awake/asleep where I use my toes to pry off the socks and nestle back into the realm of resting more but during the evening, I am wearing socks. Only socks because I prefer to sleep nekkid. LOL

Leave a comment